BOOK REVIEW: Queen of Someday by Sherry D. Ficklin

Queen of Someday Book Cover Queen of Someday
Stolen Empire #1
Sherry D. Ficklin
Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Romance
Clean Teen Publishing
October 7, 2014
eBook
Free on Kindle

ONE GIRL WILL BRING AN EMPIRE TO ITS KNEES...

Before she can become the greatest empress in history, fifteen-year-old Sophie will have to survive her social-climbing mother’s quest to put her on the throne of Russia—at any cost.

Imperial Court holds dangers like nothing Sophie has ever faced before. In the heart of St. Petersburg, surviving means navigating the political, romantic, and religious demands of the bitter Empress Elizabeth and her handsome, but sadistic nephew, Peter. Determined to save her impoverished family—and herself—Sophie vows to do whatever is necessary to thrive in her new surroundings. But an attempt on her life and an unexpected attraction threatens to derail her plans.

Alone in a new and dangerous world, learning who to trust and who to charm may mean the difference between becoming queen and being sent home in shame to marry her lecherous uncle. With traitors and murderers lurking around every corner, her very life hangs in the balance. Betrothed to one man but falling in love with another, Sophie will need to decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice in order to become the empress she is destined to be.

In a battle for the soul of a nation, will love or destiny reign supreme?

 

 

Read more

BLOG TOUR REVIEW: Pieces of Why by K. L. Going (Giveaway + Favorite Quotes)

Pieces of Why Book Cover Pieces of Why
K. L. Going
Middle Grade, Contemporary
Kathy Dawson Books
September 8, 2015
ARC
211
Publisher

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World andThe Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine.

 

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

 

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

My College Struggle

My College Struggle

 

It has been months since I planned to write this but I’m just doing it now because I allowed myself, after months of not doing it, to cry over it the other night. And honestly, editing this post now, after our thesis has been rejected earlier today, all I want to do is hug someone for like 200 years and cry on their shoulders.

Last Sunday night, I allowed myself to cry over my struggles with college. Read more

BLOG TOUR GUEST POST: Tips on Writing a YA Romance Book (The Next Together by Lauren James + Giveaway)

The Next Together Book Cover The Next Together
The Next Together #1
Lauren James
Young Adult, Romance, Historial Fiction, Contemporary, Fantasy, Time Travel
Walker
September 3, 2015

How many times can you lose the person you love?

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace?

Maybe the next together will be different...

A powerful and epic debut novel for teenagers about time-travel, fate and the timelessness of first love. The Next Together is told through a mixture of regular prose, diary entries, letters, "original" historical documents, news reports and internet articles.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Amita Trasi (The Color of Our Sky)

Author Interview Amita Trasi

Hey guys! Welcome to my first author interview which is so exciting because I’ll be featuring the author who wrote one of my top favorite books EVER!

The Color of Our Sky by Amita Trasi is a book I always recommend on my Twitter, Instagram and even to comments on other blogs. I think that this book is important and that everyone needs to read it. If you want to more about my thoughts on this wonderful book then read my review for The Color of Our Sky.

Here is the interview!

Read more