BLOG TOUR REVIEW: Pieces of Why by K. L. Going (Giveaway + Favorite Quotes)

Pieces of Why Book Cover Pieces of Why
K. L. Going
Middle Grade, Contemporary
Kathy Dawson Books
September 8, 2015
ARC
211
Publisher

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World andThe Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine.

 

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

 

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

ARC REVIEW: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Because You'll Never Meet Me Book Cover Because You'll Never Meet Me
Leah Thomas
Young Adult, Contemporary, Sci-fi
Bloomsbury
e-ARC
NetGalley

In a stunning literary debut, two boys on opposite ends of the world begin an unlikely friendship that will change their lives forever.

Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

A story of impossible friendship and hope under strange circumstances, this debut is powerful, dark and humorous in equal measure. These extraordinary voices bring readers into the hearts and minds of two special boys who, like many teens, are just waiting for their moment to shine.

BOOK REVIEW: From A Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

From A Distant Star Book Cover From A Distant Star
Karen McQuestion
Young Adult, Contemporary
Skyscape
May 19, 2015
eARC
NetGalley

Seventeen-year-old Emma was the only one who hadn’t given up on her boyfriend, Lucas. Everyone else—his family, his friends, his doctors—was convinced that any moment could be his last. So when Lucas miraculously returns from the brink of death, Emma thinks her prayers have been answered.

As the surprised town rejoices, Emma begins to question whether Lucas is the same boy she’s always known. When she finds an unidentifiable object on his family’s farm—and government agents come to claim it—she begins to suspect that nothing is what it seems. Emma’s out-of-this-world discovery may be the key to setting things right, but only if she and Lucas can evade the agents who are after what they have. With all her hopes and dreams on the line, Emma sets out to save the boy she loves. And with a little help from a distant star, she might just have a chance at making those dreams come true.

BOOK REVIEW: 44 Charles Street by Danielle Steel

44 Charles Street Book Cover 44 Charles Street
Danielle Steel
Adult, Contemporary
Dell
January 31, 2012
Mass Market Paperback
400
Purchased

A magical transformation takes place in Danielle Steel’s luminous novel: Strangers become roommates, roommates become friends, and friends become a family in a turn-of-the-century house in Manhattan’s West Village.

The plumbing was prone to leaks, the furniture rescued from garage sales. And every square inch was being devotedly restored to its original splendor—even as a relationship fell to pieces. Now Francesca Thayer, newly separated from her boyfriend, is suddenly the sole mortgage payer on her Greenwich Village townhouse. The struggling art gallery owner does the math and then the unimaginable. She puts out an advertisement for boarders, and soon her home becomes a whole new world.

First comes Eileen, a fresh, pretty L.A. transplant, now a New York City schoolteacher. Then there’s Chris, a young father fighting for custody of his seven-year-old son. The final tenant is Marya, a celebrated cookbook author hoping to start a new chapter in life after the death of her husband. Over the course of one amazing, unforgettable, ultimately life-changing year, Francesca discovers that her accidental tenants have become the most important people in her life. The house at 44 Charles Street fills with laughter, heartbreak, and hope—and in the hands of master storyteller Danielle Steel, it’s a place those who visit will never want to leave.

BOOK REVIEW: This Much Space (Twelve Beats in A Bar #2) by K. K. Hendin

This Much Space Book Cover This Much Space
Twelve Beate in a Bar #2
K.K. Hendin
New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
March 14, 2015
eARC
InkSlinger PR

Olivia is Anna Wintour’s worst nightmare, and she doesn’t give a shit. She’s wanted to go into fashion design her whole life, and nothing is going to stop her fabulous plus sized self. Not even her boss from hell, or the fact that she’s the fat Cinderella of the most exclusive lingerie store in Bushwick, Ohio. She’s sworn off dating, because she is focused, dammit, and will not get distracted by anyone in college. She has shit to do and places to go, be it on her own with the clothing she makes, or with the girls in Twelve Beats In A Bar, the all-female a cappella group she’s part of.

Why do group projects always have to ruin everything?

Thierry Acosta has it all. Shortstop on Bushwick University’s baseball team, amazing grades in college, everything he could want. When he gets paired with Olivia for a group project, things are only getting better. And then his dad loses his job, and Thierry’s life falls apart. He can’t manage to get himself to practice, to class… anywhere. He’s got the scars on his wrists to prove that this has happened before, but he thought he was better. He thought he could deal with something like this. The cuts on his thighs say otherwise.

Before they know it, Olivia and Thierry's relationship has gone from casual project partners to not-so-casual more-than-friends. But when things take a turn for the worse, can they face the growing reality of a relationship that's become much more serious than either of them expected- or wanted?

BOOK REVIEW: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend Book Cover The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend
Kody Keplinger
Young Adult, Contemporary
Little Brown/Poppy
September 7, 2010
NetGalley

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

February 2015 Wrap Up

20646933-horz

This month has been stressful for me so I only managed to read four books: two physical books and two e-books. Here are my ratings for each of them:

Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas ★★★
21 Proms Edited by David Levithan and Daniel Ehrenhaft ★★★ (read my review here)
My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher ★★★★★
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen ★★★★★

My new favorite book would be My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece, you can read my review about it here. My all-time favorite book which I re-read is The Truth About Forever (read review here).

What did you read last February?

Love,
Angel

(Originally posted on: http://thebookishangel.blogspot.com/2015/03/february-wrap-up.html last March 2, 2015)

BOOK REVIEW: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever Book Cover The Truth About Forever
Sarah Dessen
Young Adult, Contemporary
Speak
June 2012
Paperback
Purchased

A long, hot summer...

That's what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy's father.

But sometimes, unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister's project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl's world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to question her sheltered life.

Is it really always better to be safe than sorry?

 

 

Read more

BOOK REVIEW: My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece Book Cover My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece
Annabel Pitcher
Young Adult, Contemporary
Galaxy
2012
eBook

Ten-year-old Jamie hasn't cried since it happened. He knows he should have—Jasmine cried, Mum cried, Dad still cries. Roger didn't, but then he is just a cat and didn't know Rose that well, really.

Everyone kept saying it would get better with time, but that's just one of those lies that grown-ups tell in awkward situations. Five years on, it's worse than ever: Dad drinks, Mum's gone and Jamie's left with questions that he must answer for himself.

This is his story, an unflinchingly real yet heart-warming account of a young boy's struggle to make sense of the loss that tore his family apart.

 

.

Read more